Mark Power Wins Peter McEvoy Trophy

Brendan Mcdaid

CgBL_73W4AAE2htMark Power became just the second Irish winner of the Peter McEvoy Trophy, since Gavin Moynihan in 2012, when he returned a closing 3-under-par 68 at Copt Heath Golf Club in Solihull, West Midlands.

Rounds of 70, 68 and 71 gave the 15-year-old Kilkenny golfer a 7-under-par total of 277 to earn a two-shot victory over England’s Jack Ainscough.

“Oh my god, I can’t believe it,” Power said when he came off the 18th green.

“I don’t really have much experience playing in big events like this, so I’m a bit shocked,” Power said. “I was hitting the ball well before I came here, but my goal was really just to make the cut and see if I could do well.”

Mark is the son of Irish champions Eddie Power and Eileen Rose Power (nee McDaid).

Peter McEvoy OBE is one of the finest British amateur golfers of all time. He was born in 1953 and joined Copt Heath aged 13. He remains an Honorary Member to this day, regularly playing in Club competitions.

Peter won the the Amateur Championship in both 1977 (Ganton) and 1978 (Royal Troon) and the English Stroke Play title in 1980. In 1978 he played all four rounds at The Masters and remains the last British Amateur to make the cut in this famous Major.

He was also the leading amateur, winning the Silver Medal, in both the 1978 (Canoustie, 39th) and 1979 (Royal Lytham & St. Annes, 17th) Open Championships. He is England’s most capped amateur golfer.

He also represented Great Britain & Ireland (GB&I) five times in both the Walker Cup (1977-79-81-85-89) and Eisenhower Trophy (1978-80-84-86-88). In 1988 GB&I won the World Amateur Team Championship and Peter was the Individual Champion.

Peter subsequently enjoyed huge success as a Team Captain, leading GB&I to famous wins in both the Eisenhower Trophy (Santiago, Chile, 1998) and Walker Cup (Nairn, 1999 and Sea Island, Georgia, 2001 – both by a 15-9 scoreline). He continues to work closely with the R&A as Chairman of the GB&I Boys Selectors and also manages the GB&I Jacques Léglise Trophy team.

In 1978 he received the Association of Golf Writers’ Trophy for his contribution to European golf. In 2003 he was awarded the OBE by HM Queen Elizabeth II for services to golf. In 2009 he received the Association of Golf Writers’ Award for his outstanding services to the game.

History Of The Peter McEvoy Trophy

Following his Amateur Championship victories the Club invited Peter to suggest a way in which we may commemorate his achievements. He suggested a 72 hole competition for Under 18 junior boy golfers, to be held annually at Copt Heath.

Starting in 1981, the competition was originally held in August but in 1985, at the request of the English Golfing Union (EGU), it was moved to April. This was to assist them with the selection of the England Boys’ team ahead of the various National and European Championships held later in the season.

The McEvoy has become the traditional curtain raiser to the boy’s golf season and is now viewed as one of the “must enter” junior major competitions. The best junior players from across GB&I can therefore be guaranteed to be seen in Solihull every year. Annually, there are far more entrants than we are able to accommodate and thus there is a ballot based on handicap. Since 2000, the cut-off handicap has reduced annually from 1.7 (2001) to 0.1 (2014), which illustrates the excellence of the players now coming through, many of whom have handicaps of between +2 and +4.

In 2013 Justin Rose became the first McEvoy Trophy winner to go on and secure a Major Championship – the US Open at Merion GC.

Notable Past Winners:

1983 Peter Baker – Walker Cup, Ryder Cup, European Tour
1991 Lee Westwood – Ryder Cup, Winner European Tour Order of Merit
1992 Brian Davis – Walker Cup, USPGA Tour
1993 Steve Webster – European Tour
1998 Justin Rose – Ryder Cup, 2013 US Open Champion
2004 John Parry – Walker Cup, European Tour
2006 Luke Goddard – Walker Cup
2008 Stiggy Hodgson – Walker Cup
2011 Nathan Kimsey – Walker Cup
2012 Gavin Moynihan – Irish Amateur Champion 2012, Walker Cup